TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Are students more influenced by their friends or teachers? Some people might argue that teachers are even more influence students more that parents are because students spend most of their time at school. However, when compared teachers to their friends, I strongly believe that students are more influenced by their friends than by their teachers mainly for the time spend together and related topic of their discussion.

To begin with, how much influenced someone received from others can be determined by how much time they spend together. Students spend most of the time at school in many classes and teachers, but students are usually stick within the same group of friends for the whole school life. Thus, students learn by observe and interact with their friends. To illustrate, we can see that a group of friend tend to behave or prefer that same way. For example, this group may prefer to study in free time; other might prefer to play soccer. This uniform behavior can be explained by influence students receive from friends in their group.

Furthermore, friend’s relationship are much stronger than teachers and students’ relationship. Although students unusually discuss academic subjects with their professor, friend’s conversation are about everything such as studying, career and personal. The reason is students are of the same age can relate their life and are more open to each other that to teachers. As a result, students are more influenced from friend through both school and personal life. For instance, students learn not only academic subject from schools but also how to live as a part of society. This life experience is built by interaction with their friends.

In conclusion, more time spend together and topic of discussion are two major reasons that can influence other students. For those reasons, it is clear that students are more influenced by their friends than by their teachers.