TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The development of human at younger age is more dependent on what they learn in the school. The effect of school on children may be resulted from their teachers or their classmates. Some believe that students prefer to imitate their friends in the school; others argue that notion because of the influence of teachers on them. I am of the conviction that children have greater impact on each other for two following reasons.

To begin with, people at any age are affected by whom they spend greater amount of time. To be more specific, students at school age are mostly talking to or playing with their peers. Hence, it makes sense that they imitate their classmates or close friends. My own experience is a good example of this. When I was in the high school, I had two friends named Hosna and Pouneh. Hosna and I were planning to study medicine in the future; however, Pouneh was interested in engineering. We got separated after the second school year. During third grade, Pouneh was so successful in Mathematics and Physics, which are essential to enter an engineering program in the college. While her teachers encouraged her to apply for a well-known engineering university in our country, she took our advice to leave her engineering plans and started studying for medicine with us. She is now a good physician and states that the only reason that took her in this pass is the impact of our friendship on her.

Second, human are psychologically inclined to those who encourage them and make them feel faithful. For the teenagers in school age, the same aged children are more interested to praise each other, whether wrong or right. On the other hand, teachers are criticizing their inaccurate behavior, studying, handwriting and etc. This makes them to do what their peers want them to do instead of their teachers. For example, I remember watching a television series named Gossip girl, which was mainly about the teenagers in New York City. The major characters of the series, where always doing what their queen –one of their beautiful classmates- requested and were encouraging for breaking the school rules.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that teenagers at school age are mostly imposed to their peers' behavior rather than their teachers'. That's because they spend majority of time with their friends and their behavior are more adopted by their friends.