TPO 18. Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Agree/ disagree?

In the last decade, the educational system has climbed extremely, as well as the relationships within. At the point, it can easily be questioned whether students, in this advanced educational environment, are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. From my perspective, although teachers' undeniable supervision, I firmly believe that students are more influenced by their friends because of the following reasons.

At top of the reasons, the age differences between teachers and students, especially at a younger age, plays a crutial role. Children trust other children, in fact, elders, such as parents and teachers, are enemies. Since interrelations between them depend more on children's common interests, friendships become trustworthy. However, teachers do not have the qualification of reliance on many primary school students. As a result, children are prone to believe more on what they heard from their friends, not from teachers. Take me as an example, about fifteen years ago when I was in third grade, our teacher was complaining from us not to sit quietly on our desk, indeed, she was yelling. We, on the other hand, were chatting during the lecture, and sure didn't listen to the teacher at all, because I had believed that the talk with my friend was interesting. Moreover, opportunities differ among generations, for instance, the absence of video games in the past, when today's teachers were children, youngers guess that their teachers are boring, and their knowledge is not credible.

The other following reason is the complexity of adolescent relationships in the academic environment. With the previous paragraph, I tried to explain why students are less, even none, influenced by their teacher, and now, it is time to jump in adults, university students. The projects and researches, usually, are held by groups of students, and these relationships which mean for a specific output may result in close friendships. Consequently, influencing environment appears in the group among friends. In fact, classmates and lab partners become our besties, and so, our influencers are not elder professors, but friends, coworkers. Besides respect, at some point, limits the communication with supervisors, unless they comfort their students.

In conclusion, even though the role of supervision of elders is undebatable for many students whether young or old, friends are the source of influence. By following the age difference reason in which teachers and primary school students relationship, the other reason is that the collaborators, at heart friends, are influencers of many university students.