Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, most universities invest high amount of money for renewing classes and libraries. However, sports and social activities are not regarded as much as educational support. In my humble opinion, these institutes should consider supplying equal financial support for both education and activities due to several reasons.

Firstly, sport makes students healthier, and healthier students tend be more successful in their academic life. Studies showed that without a healthy body, human brain are not capable of working in full performance. For example, in the first year of study, since I couldn’t keep up with my classmates, I had lower grades in my exams. Afterward, I have sought to find a way to improve my scores, and I decided to join a sport club at my university, scouting where we go camping and breath fresh air in mountains. My grades had increased remarkably as well as my overall GPA, this clearly illustrate that sport plays an important role in my career. Therefore, universities should give opportunity for doing sport for their students in study programs.

Secondly, social activities are a medium for being social. Students meet with lots of new people in those activities. Moreover, as a social life is good for students’ mental health, they would study more comfortable for their exams, in the fact that success is inevitable. Most students, for instance, cannot deal with stress in their exam week, meanwhile, friends can support each other to be relaxed and calm. Group studies also grant students improving their scores from homeworks and exams with collaboration. Thus, supporting social activities are as important as educational investments.

Finally, universities and colleges must provide equal opportunities for both education and other activities. Sport leads students to be healthier, and it brings a good academic career for students. Moreover, social activities help them to be in good mental health which is a vital requirement.