Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Our current way of life will have a negative impact on future generations

Nowadays, there are many problems that we push under the rug. For example, we are facing climate change crises everyday, and we have a small interaction in real life. Further, I believe these problems that we ignore will have serious consequences in the future.

Firstly, climate change is a very important issue. It is related to harmful side-materials that we produce in everyday life. Although many scientists, corporations and governments try to prevent it from happening, the way we live our lives makes the fatal end inevitable. Many industries are depending on chemicals that cannot dissolve easily in nature, such as plastic. Plastics are everywhere. For example, the keyboard I am typing this essay is made up of plastic. Unless people recycle these, the future generations will have to drown under plastic garbage dumps.

Secondly, we interact less and less with people in real life than before because of social media. Everyday, gradually, social media dominates people’s lives, they post how they dress, where they eat. In my opinion, this is very toxic and keeps people from interacting with each other in real life. From another perspective, unfortunate COVID-19 makes us prone to use social media more. Even the research is going on via social media. For example, I met new collaborators online to start a new project, but I have never seen them in real life. In time, we “normalize” these situations and get used to them, thus leading to shallow social interactions among future generations.

Overall, I believe that the way we live now, although we want to change, is somehow problematic and we ignore the consequences. Therefore, I agree with the given argument.