TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Many people discuss whether it is more important to cooperate with other people or be excellent on individual performance. While I do not deny that studying hard to improve your individual skill is important I believe that to be successful in one's job the ability to relate with other people is more important.

The main reason I believe so is because no matter how hard one tries he/she cannot be perfect with everything. In order to succeed in a project or a job he/she needs to get help from others to cover their weakness. To do so the ability to relate well with others is crucial because we have to make others wanting to help us. To illustrate this with my own experience, while I was doing an internship at Samsung I had to do a project related to network. Although I had all A's on transcript I didn't take a course related to network so I was bound to fail the project. Luckily, I had a friend of mine who was excellent in that field and because I had a good relationship with him he gladly helped me finish the project. It was my ability to relate with others not my personal skill that went me through my difficulty.

Moreover, nowadays since technology is getting more advance companies are requiring people to work as a group. Develop, Marketing, Design or whatever you work in you have to work as a team. Thus, it is becoming an essential to know how to relate with people otherwise, you will not have much of a use to any of the companies. Employers picking employees just by their individual performance is a thing in the past. That is why companies are trying new ways to interview new recruitment like grouping people together and watch how they cooperate with other people or whether they keep their manners to others etc. Therefore, ability to relate with other people is not just important but it is becoming a necessary.

To sum up, from the reasons I mention above I believe that cooperation is more important than knowledge.