TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are several games out in the world including RPG, FPS etc that people enjoy. However, some people claim that playing computer games is harmful to children so they should stay away from them. While I do agree excessive game play should be prevented, I disagree with the statement that games are just a waste of time to kids.

The main reason for my statement is playing computer games is one of the best way to make friends. People can nowadays meet friends online inside a game and play together. Also, lots of friends like to talk about common games they enjoy together. Either way games are one of the best way to bond with others. To illustrate this point with my example, I play a game called "Fortnite". It is an online battle royal game where 100 people from all over the world play a sudden death game. You can link with your friends and team up together which doubles up the fun. In fact, it is one of the most enjoyable ways to spend time with friends. Also, whenever I meet a new person and he or she happens to play Fortnite we tend to bond with each other more easily. Thus, it would be nonsense to hinder kids to play games when it is the easiest way to make friends.

Furthermore, computer games is one of the best ways to relieve stress and regain will. Children experience lots of stress from their studies, test, peer pressure and they need a way to relieve them. Playing games have this certain magic that helps children to forget all the anxiety and frustrating situation they go through and refresh their minds. Thus, unless their game time is interrupting their studies they should in fact, be encouraged to enjoy games. For example, when I was in middle school most of the time after class I always felt exhausted and just wanted to go to bed even when I needed to do my homework. Whenever I felt that way I played computer games for about an hour to enhanced my mood. This actually motivated me to forget my tiredness and finish school work that was needed to be done.

All in all, because playing computer games is one of the most efficient ways to bond with friends and the best way to get away from stress it is not true to say that computer games are just a waste of time and children should be forbidden to play them.