TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout our lifetime we make friends. It is both important to make new friend and to keep them as friends. However, if someone asked me which ability is more important I would say that the ability to make new friends is more important.

The first reason for my assertion is because new friends are more likely to be related to one's current field and share the same interest. If so, it is more likely that the friends one just made out with will able to help one's situation than anyone else. To illustrate this point, no one will doubt that friends before college are precious, but after high school everyone applies to different universities and majors. Hence, all of your friends will have different interests, which means there is not much for old friend's to help in one's field. My high school friend who majored in history cannot give advice to my computer science projects. On the other hand, friends I made at college are studying the same subject and can work with the assignment together.

Another thing is nowadays it is very rare for people to live in the same place they were raised. Most people move to cities when they get jobs or study abroad to get a degree. In that case, it is inevitable that people will have to depart with their old friends and make new friends. However, if people do not have the ability to make new friends it will be extremely difficult to adopt to their new places. To explain this with my experience, I was born in Nebraska and lived there until I was ten then I moved to Korean, now I am planing to study abroad after my undergraduate. So even in my short life time I moved two times and plan to live in three different locations. If I did not have the ability to make new friends my life would have been miserable.

To sum up, although it is undeniable that keeping one's old friends is important, new friends are more likely to share similar interests and give helpful advice also in today's mobile life it is important to know how to make new friends. Therefore, I would not agree that it is more crucial to keep old friends than it is to make new friends.