Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Transportation has developed throughout the human history. Every time people find faster and better methods of transportation they changed their vehicles. It’s just a matter of time when people will change their cars to a different type of vehicle. Personally, I believe we are close for another change of transportation.

The main reason I assert this is because transportation methods that were expensive are getting cheaper. Twenty years ago it cost a lot of money to even pay for a short trip using an airplane. However, because of scientific development and fuel efficiency rising, it is much more affordable for even normal people to ride airplanes. Now it is no big deal if you are not taking a trip longer than 3 hours. Thus, people will start using planes instead of driving for hours to get from one place to another.

Also, we might soon see a different type of vehicle. There are news articles saying that a small flying vehicle is under development. If this new flying vehicle comes out of the market people will start to use this because it is much faster and there will be no worries for traffic jam. Since this new type of vehicle will be much more efficient than riding a car more people will start using this new vehicle and fewer cars. It is just like how people transition from horses to cars in the past.

Finally, it is evident that cars are destroying the environment and it is a global concern. Therefore, governments will try to prevent people overusing cars. They will make policies to encourage people to use public transportation and advertise people to walk short distance. As people get educated by this agenda more people will start finding different ways of transportation. Overall, less people will drive their car out to the streets.

To sum up, scientific enhancement has made advance transportation more affordable to people and even further enough to introduce new types of transportation, on top of that people will be educated to use fewer cars. Thus, it is clear to me that in twenty years there will be fewer cars out the streets compare to today.