Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People are never satisfied with what they have; they always want something more or something different. Use specific reasons to support your answer.

Is it possible to be happy with what you have? Or will people crave for bigger or better stuff than the ones they have? If I were to answer the question I would say that it is extremely difficult for people to be satisfied with what they have.

To begin with, no matter how special a thing or a situation is people tend to get bored with it. No matter how delightful they were when they got something after time past people find something that is better or different. To illustrate this point with my own experience, when I was in middle school I always wanted a playstation3. I gathered small amount of money every day and took me about 6 month to finally be able to afford the console. When I first bought the playstation3 it was so special not because of just it's entertainment feature but also it showed my hard work to get it. However, after a couple of years past I played most of the games and I was getting bored of playing with it. Now I was finding for a Xbox. As we can see here even things that were precious becomes trivial and unsatisfying. Thus, making people look for something more or something different.

Moreover, people constantly compare with other people and if what they have or their situation is not better than others people tend to starve for more. This happens with grades, money, appearance and so on. Even if getting a 90 out of 100 is a great grade people are not satisfied with it because their friend got a 95. Even if one's salary is decent they want more if their co-worker gets more money than him or her. Then again even when people have the same amount of something they tend to envy what others have that they don't. Just like the saying goes "The grass is greener on the other side of the fence".

To sum up, people cannot constantly have the same enthusiasm they have with what they have and they cannot stop comparing with others. Because of that people will never be satisfied with what they have in hand and will always look for something better.