TPO 22 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People show different attitudes towards whether teachers should show their own viewpoints on social and political issues to students. In my opinion, I give my vote to the argument that those thoughts should be kept undisclosed. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, that professors unleash their opinions at school adversely affects the learning of their students as it discourages ones with an opposite outlook from exchanging their ideas with those lecturers. In some extreme circumstances, students no longer want to attend the classes given by those teachers. As a result, they fail to get to the bottom of the disciplines which they should be able to. My own experience is a compelling example. Ten years ago, when I was a freshman foreign student in Spain, my chemistry professor publicly showed his discrimination towards the immigrations and foreigners. Therefore, I felt uncomfortable to attend this class and decided to study at home instead of attending class. My teacher´s attitude was the contributing factor on my middle-of-the-road result for this important subject.

Secondly, showing personal preference in front of students is certainly detrimental to the career of lecturers. Students who have bad academic record in the subjects taught by those professors may think that their effort are not evaluated fairly as a consequence of their opposite points of view. As such, they may dispute the results or implement offending actions. Besides, other teachers or school´s board of director having discrete attitudes towards the issues may have bad impressions on those lecturers, which consequently baffle their career advancement. My cousin´s situation exemplifies this idea. He is a talented high school teacher but a strong opponent of gays and lesbians. One of pupils in his five-year-ago class was a lesbian and got a low grade for her presentation. Although her lack of proper preparation attributed to the poor outcome, she disputed that my cousin treated her unevenly and carried out bad actions against him. Despite his unbiased evaluation, my cousin´s reputation was seriously stricken thanks to this scandal and he cannot promote his career after many years of dedicating himself to education.

In conclusion, those above-mentioned reasons and examples put weight to my view that teachers ought to deliberately consider the consequences prior to manifesting their personal thoughts to students.