TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

agree

1, literature teacher do not like black people, ı did not like his opinion, ı did not want to join his classes

2, psychology teacher against the current government, gave an examples of how they are bad and one of my friend was not accepted by his family

3, religion culture lessons were to adapt students to a specific religion

Personally, I agree with the statement. I think teachers who teaches between elemantary to highschool should not give their opinion about social and political thoughts. Students might have some problems by not appreciating teacher's opinion, having contrasts with her or his family and adaptation to a one specific side.

First of all, students who adequate their teacher's opininon about social aspect let students to stay far away from both the lecture and teacher. For example, when I was in highschool, my literature teacher used to give examples of how he does not like black people. He would give some specific reasons like wars and issues that we had in the past. I do like black people and I have never had any problem with them. Many contries had wars and diplomatic problems with each other in the past and even nowadays. I basically do not care what the other people think about them in general. This opinion and aspect of my literature teacher made me think bad about him. I did not use to like him and I did not join many of his lessons because of that my knowladge of literature has always been under need. I could not get subsequent score from university enrollment exams and I did not succeeded in life.

Next, young students are ready to get information very fast and they are trying to find their own values about social and political wievs. If a teacher talks opposite of what he learned from his family about politician, he can easily get confused about what to think. For example, my psyhology teacher would talk about the recent government and its ways to manage all country and people. She was right opposite of their management and she was always giving her opinin about them. She also used to warn us not to think like current government. One of my close friends were carefully listening and trying to take advantage of her talks eveytime. He used to have individual interwievs with teacher and as he was saying he would like to be a president who stays right opposite of the current government. His family heard this events that going on between the teacher and his kid. his family was not thinking the same way and actually they voted for current government for their rights. My friend had many problems with his family, they were always arguing. So, his parents took him from the school and he could not continue for one year to his education, until they find the right school.

Lastly, many highschools gives religious culture lessons in Turkey. But it is only about islamic culture oppose to other religions and how good the islam is. Students who learned only about islam would make them stay opposite of the other religions. For example, my religion culture teacher used to always say that the islam is the one and right religion to believe in. My parents taught me the same. But I had many questions about the islam they can not answer and say it is wrong to investigate these kind of questions about islam. If I reasearch so much I would definitely go to hell. I always stood among my questions and informations that I got from lessons. I could not still choose a religion to believe in. I know there is a god but what if it is not the one that islamic world believes. I would like to learn more about the other religions and choose my own way.

In conclusion, having the teachers opinion about social and political views while you are a young student does not make the students find their own values while day walk to be welfare. I think until they enroll to a university with a specific major, they elemantary and high school teachers should not expose their opinions to students. With this way, students will be able to match with a higher mind and easily find their rights.