TPO 22 – task 2: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

It is always said that school can be considered as the second home for children because each student spends about 6 to 8 hours a day in school. In addition, many psychologists have emphasized on the relation between students and teachers. In their point of view, to have a quality educational system, teachers must be kind, patient as well as committed persons who are able to make a good relation with students such that students can trust on them. To achieve this goal, I believe that knowing the social or political views of teachers by students can be taken into account as an advantage. I feel this way because of two reasons which I will explore them in the following essay.

To begin with, in the case that students are aware of their teacher's mentality, the teacher and students can get closer together because, in this way, they know more about each other. Hence, they feel that they are intimate and as a result, students feel comfortable to express their feelings to their teacher. My own experience is a good example of this. When I was in high school, many students and I were unhappy about the uniform rules in our school but we did not know how to express our complaint. At the time, we knew that our physics teacher is working on social campaigns to change the rules about conservation of nature. We talked with her and asked her help to teach us how to complain and talk to the administrator. As I remember, we followed her instructions and we obtained the results that we wanted.

Secondly, teachers are able to can take advantage of this situation to plan free discussion sessions for students to discuss social or political issues in the class. These sessions can practically be fruitful because students get opportunities to discuss their viewpoints, learn to listen to opposite opinions, and analyze the issues. If we do not teach students how to have a rightful discussion, how do we expect them in adulthood to analyze and discuss the controversial things in the right way? I, myself, have experienced such class when I was senior in high school. Our history teacher used to hold such free discussion sessions. I remember that I used to be present on all sessions and I learned lots of things in these sessions such as debating and handling the arguments with persons of the oppose opinions.

Finally, it is noteworthy mentioning that when students are aware of their teacher's viewpoints, the teacher must be a wise person who can handle unexpected situations in the class and also be an impartial person who does not bias students.

To sum up, I contend that knowing social or political views of teachers by students is advantageous as I discussed them earlier. However, sometimes handling the class would be more arduous which teacher should be prepared for that.