TPO-23 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.Use specific reasons an

It is no doubt that the world had undergone great changes that we need a different view of jobs. In my opinion, there are some jobs truly need to be done quickly, but not all the jobs need this change. I will express my idea using specific examples.

To begin with, in the fields of science, it is important to work quickly and scientists do not care about mistakes. For scientists, competition in the same fields is common that it forced scientists to work faster than others. If they are later than other scientists who first publish thesis, what they have done like ten years’ effort, is almost useless. Like the most famous scientists, Newtown was believed as the father of calculous which is, in fact totally different from the calculous we use today which invented by Leibniz. He is just some years later than Newtown, however, such delay caused that we are more familiar with Newtown than Leibniz. What’s more, making mistakes is acceptable because no theories are perfect in the first time without any one’s revise.

Then, working quickly is also important when accounts for commerce. In the modern society, a successful merchant not depends on his intelligence, but the speed of starting plans and ideas. Take Ma Yun, the boss of Taobao, who is the richest person in China as an instance. Though there are various of competitors and even some offer better services than Taobao, no one can compare with Taobao in online shopmarketing. A possible and strong reason is that his web is the first since twenty years ago he had persisted in it. At that time, when all other people were still waiting for a better chance, Taobao has became the first web for people to shop. Thus we have to admit that to be the first is the key factor to success in commerce.

However, not all jobs need to be worked quickly, especially some jobs which need patience like education and medicine. For example, when a teacher faces students who cannot study well, he or she has to care about these students with patience or they will lose confidence even give up study forever. In this case, working quickly is not just unimportant, but even harmful.

Due to the aforementioned ground, whether need to work quickly even make mistakes depends on the jobs. Truly many jobs like scientists and merchants need the high working speed and it is acceptable to make mistakes, on the other hand, some jobs like teachers should put patience on the first.