TPO-25 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is no doubt that nowadays people have aware of the importance of communities which are crucial for the society. However, most people argue that people are too busy to help communities. I totally agree with the point, especially when the heavy burden of study and the Internet are concerned.

To begin with, young people have to pay attention on study causing them no time to spare time on communities. Because in the modern world, it is impossible to own a good job without at least a bachelor’s degree. Unlike young people now, people in the past never care about their study. For example, when Jobs dropped out of university forty years ago, he did not need to care about his future. On the contrary, he had enough time to do what he wanted and he could spare lots of time to help communities. But for young students now, they concentrated all the time on study until they get a job.

Moreover, the Internet has taken up most of young people’s free time. Due to the highly developed technology, people can use various ways to waste their time such as smart phones, computers and laptops. They can communicate with friends, look for news and play games wherever they want. Comparing with helping communities, they do not need to pay attention and waste lots of time. And according to a research by the Peking University, students waste most of their free time on smart phones unlike thirty years ago when young often did communities together. So there is no wonder that young do not have time to do communities.

Admittedly, some young indeed help their communities according to regulations of some schools. These schools have aware of this situation and they force students to engage in community service during vacations. However, the time is still not enough and in fact most students pay no attention on communities.

For the aforementioned ground, although some students are committed to community service due to the policy of the school, I firmly believe young people nowadays do not give enough time to help with their community services.