TPO-23 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, it is a twenty- first century; a very competitive era and all are in a race to work fast, to save time and to gain more. Some people work quickly with the risk of making mistakes while others do their work with a comfortable speed to avoid dangers. I personally believe to work slowly and to double check to have the precise work. Perfection, high- quality work along with mental and physical health is desirable. Certain mistakes bring serious results, and at the end, there is no redress of such mistakes.

First, perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can achieve success. Working slowly ensures that all tasks are correct either gives a worker more extra time to be expedient with new invention and progress or assists them to see all latent aspects of a duty. This would lead to have an opportunity to reach to a profound understanding towards the subjects and materials and also it is a crucial factor that can help employees to address work strongly and to handle job difficulties or problems efficiently.

Second, psychological and physical stress is a major problem associated with employees who work quickly in order to fulfill the needs of their job. At a workplace, these people ought to work hard enough or concentrate to do their task correctly. As a result, they would suffer a lot of stress, anxiety, and pressure. Few days before, I have gone through an article from the magazine of social psychology department, UCLA, stating that workers who required completing their daily task quickly are 20% more vulnerable or prone to the mental and physical problems like hypertension, indigestion, depression and headache compared with the persons who work at a comfortable speed.

Finally, working slowly and carefully always guarantee high- quality work and the best product in the market. For example, an apple company is presently at the top in the market, as the engineers of this company are working so diligently and make all the things perfectly that never allow customers to make complain against any items they made.

In a conclusion, quality and production are crucial in today’s competitive world which requires working at a comfortable speed ensuring a mental and physical safety of the people at a workplace .Some risks are so huge that they are unacceptable; hence people should not work too fast. Here, at the end, I would like to tell a very well known quote said by Benjamin Franklin, “Take time for all things, great haste makes great waste”.