TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

We are living in a complex and rapidly developing world. People have to admit that being an adult in this society is not an easy task. Understanding this phenomenon parents try to find various ways to help children to prepare for their future lives. Many people believe that one of the best ways that parents can teach their children to be ready for their future lives is to have a part-time job. Some parents may think that is a great idea. However, others would not agree with the statement above. In my opinion, I totally do not think that having a part -time job is a good preparation for the future of children. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, gaining academic knowledge is overriding task of children. We all acknowledge that education plays a pivotal role in our lives. In other word, people cannot have a good job without knowledge. Therefore, children should be encouraged to study and enhance their comprehensions as much as possible while they are in school. They should take advantage of this period to enrich their ability in order to prepare for their future. In fact, nowadays, there are plenty of jobs that provide people with good salary unless they are able to respond to the requirements of those jobs. My sister's experience is a compelling example of this case. When she was in college, she had to work hard to have money for her school's needs. She did not have much time to study. As a result, she did not understand her major deeply, carefully and widely. Therefore, she had to face many difficulties to apply for a job.

Secondly, children should have some times to enlarge their relationships with other people. It is no doubt that nowadays people seem to be always in a hurry, they have no time to be friends with others. They work during weekdays and even on weekend in order to earn more money or to get more experience. Therefore, this phenomenon reduces social life among people. Actually, sometimes we do not know who our neighborhood is. Therefore, if some time we need help from others, and we live far from our relatives, we do not know whom to ask for. Moreover, if children have more friends, they are able to encourage each other to learn better and they may help each other in the future as well.

In conclusion, parents can find many ways to help their children to prepare for their future lives. For two reasons, which I have just mentioned above, I strongly believe that having a part - time job while children are in school is not an ideal purpose to support children to enter their adult lives in the future.