TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in a technological society. It seems to me that all family has at least one computer at home. Therefore, it is easy for children to approach the computer. Meanwhile, the computer contains many games, and children always are curious to play games. This phenomenon causes a tremendous problem. In my opinion, parents should forbid children to not playing computer games. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, children need time to study. It is no doubt that the most important task of children is to study and enrich their knowledge. We are living in a modern society. Education plays a pivotal role in our lives. If children are not educated carefully, they cannot meet the requirement of life. They will have to face many difficulties to deal with their lives in the future. Therefore, they need to focus on their studies. Moreover, children are easy to be addicted to computer games. Once they are crazy about the games, they cannot study well. Therefore, their studies will suffer. My friend is a compelling example of this case. When she was ten years old, her father bought her a computer in order to support her studies. However, she loved to play games. She could not get out of the computer. Her studies suffered seriously. Hence, her father had to punish her and did not allow her to play computer games any more.

Secondly, playing computer games harms children's vision. Researchers have shown that if children spend too much time in front of the screen of the computers, they will hurt their eyes. Their lachrymal gland will be dried. Therefore, the ability of seeing things will be decreased.

Last but not least, playing computer games will make children gain a lot of weights. Obviously, children are in the age of physical development. If they spend too much time sitting to play games instead of doing exercise, they will be obese. It will cause many diseases.

In conclusion, people have their own ideas about the issue of whether parents should not allow their children to play games. In my view, for three reasons, which I have just mentioned above, I totally support the idea that playing computer games is a waste of time. Parents should never accept for their children to play computer games.