TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are living in a modern society with the help of science and technology. They provide people with many benefits, and advertisement is not an exception. Therefore, the concept of most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are is debatable. In my opinion, I believe that the statement above is true. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the images and videos of advertised products are usually beatified by professional photographers deliberately. With the advanced techniques in photography, the products in the photos always look better than they are in reality, which, of course will attract the attention of the consumers very easily. To be more specific, last week I ordered a pizza online. I saw that pizza on the menu of the restaurant, which looked so delicious and attractive my attention with a lot of vegetable and onion as well as sausages. However, when it came to me, it just had some little sausages, a few crumbs of vegetable and no onion. This phenomenon disappointed me tremendously. I believe that other consumers would frustrate as I did when they find out the real products do not look as good as they are in the photos.

Secondly, the words and language are used very carefully in the advertisements, so that the advantages of the products will be highlighted while some disadvantages can be ignored by the consumers. In other words, in the advertisements people often do not tell people their products' disadvantages. My own experience is compelling in this case. When I was in nursing college, I needed to buy a new laptop with better performance and capacity. Meanwhile, I did not have a lot of money. So as always, I searched the internet and I found a powerful laptop at a reasonable price. After a few minutes of searching and exploring, I read the advertisement carefully; the words that were written said, “This computer is the most powerful one in the world”. I saw that its price was so good. Eventually, I ordered one of them. However, when I received my computer, I opened it immediately and I recognized that its quality was so poor. It contained a lot of viruses and went slowly. The advertisement told me nothing about the poor quality of other features of that laptop. In this case people made their products look better than it really was.

In conclusion, I think that advertisement is a good way for companies to sell their products. However, companies usually exaggerate their products and do not tell customers about the disadvantages of their products. They make them better than they are.