TPO-13 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family plays a pivotal role in our society. It is home for us to be born and grow up. However, we are living in a modern world. The standard of living and demanding to adapt to this life, the extended family is less important than it was in the past. I completely support this statement for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, people tend to live independently in their own department to fit with their lives. Obviously, in the past big family often lived together in a house due to the fact that they usually worked together in a farm or their business in the same places. Moreover, their lives depended on each other. Therefore, they had to live in an extended family to support and take care each other. However, today people travel around the world. They live wherever they can find a suitable job and make them happy. My family's experience is a compelling example of this case. Some years ago we lived with our grandparents, uncles and aunts. Since my parents found good jobs in a big city, they moved to live there. Thus, my uncles and aunts followed my parents to move to big city to find job. Therefore, now our big family do not live together as before.

Alongside the elaborated reason above, another idea that is noteworthy to consider is that couple or small family may feel more comfortable to live in their own house. Today life is more complex than ever before. People have many things to consider and worry. Thus, it is better to live independently. Further, people will have more freedom when they live independently than living with many people. They can do whatever they want. They can schedule themselves without any hesitation of bothering others. For example if you are a student and you live with your parents or other older people in your family, you have to take care of them and if you go out for something you have to tell them. But if you live alone you do not need to tell them anything.

In conclusion, people have different ideas whether the extended family is less important now than it was in the past. For two reasons, which I have just mentioned above, I totally support this statement.