TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education plays a pivotal role in our lives. It is believed that the more knowledge we gain, the more we will be successful in the future. Therefore, people try to enhance their knowledge as much as possible. People also concern about the question whether parents in the past are involved in their children's education than parents today are. This issue draws different ideas from people. Some people believe that obviously before parents concerned about their children's studies than parents today do. Others would not agree with this statement. In my observation, in the past the education of children is the foremost concern of their parents. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, parents today spend too much time on their jobs and workplaces. Therefore, they have very little time to their children. We all acknowledge that previously, usually only father went to work. Mother stayed at home to take care of their children and their housework. Therefore, mother had time to concern about their children's education. However, today in a family most both parents go to work. They work during weekdays. Sometimes parents work on weekend as well. In fact, during the days they spend a lot of energy to do their jobs. Thus in the evening, when they come home, they would like to have some times to relax. Likewise, most time when parents get home, their children already go to bed. Therefore, they do not have time to care about their children much as parents in the past did. My friend is a compelling example of this case. His parents work far from home. Therefore, during weekdays they stay in their workplaces. His parents just meet him on weekend. He told me that his parents have no time to care about his studies.

Secondly, children today do not want to depend on their parents much, particularly in their studies. People admit that they are living in a modern society with the help of the internet. It seems to me that people can find everything on the internet. This phenomenon also impact on children's thought. They tend to decide their own education, such as which university they would like to apply and which major they are interested in to learn in the university. They do not want to ask their parents for getting their advice or opinions. To be more specific, last month my best friend asked me some questions about how to choose his major in the university. I questioned her that why did not you ask your parents. She answered me immediately that she never confer with her parents about her studies.

In conclusion, each of us has our own ideas about the issue; do parents in the past involve in their children's education than parents today do? In my opinion, I strongly support my idea that indeed parents in the past are more involved in their children's education than parent today are because parents today are busy at work and children today are really want to being independent in their studies.