TPO-25 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

A group of people who think that today young people do not allocate enough time to help their communities suggest that time is a major factor which inhibits young people to help the community. In fact, today, due to the severe competition, which is a result of resource scarcity and economic crisis, young people have to optimize their time and prioritize activities based on their importance and possible outcomes. Therefore, they do not have extra time to allocate to other activities such as social activities. For example, a young student has to study at the university and get a part-time job, in order to be able to afford his tuition fees. As statistics show, today, young people have less extra time compared to those who lived in the past.

In addition, due to the lack of knowledge on the importance of society and the devastating impact of human on the community, neither have young people the belonging sense to the community, nor they attempt to help the community in any way. They prefer to spend their leisure time on attractive entertaining activities, which have especially become available by the advance of the technology and emerge of computer devices, rather than on activities to support the community. In other words, they prefer themselves over the community in which they live.

On the other hand, some people subscribe to the view that even today, young people help the community throughout over different stages of their life, in terms of indirect supportive activities. Consider a student who voluntarily helps charities by selling hand-made products or holding music concerts and at the same time teaches a group of poor students, who cannot afford to pay for their classes. Both of the abovementioned activities fall into the category of activities to support the community.

In conclusion, I strongly assert that today young people spend less time and energy to help their community through supportive activities. Although some people attend supportive activities, the number of these cases are too low.