TPO-23 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.Use specific reasons an

Considering technological advances in various fields, especially during the twenty-first century, and the shift toward the faster lifestyle have necessitated people to change their habits and attempt to work at a faster rate in comparison to the past. In other words, today, time has become a precious resource for humans.

The first reason why people should prioritize speed to accuracy is that today monopoly is diminished, at least in a large body of industry, and companies compete with each other to gain customers attention and their preferences to motivate them to buy their products or services. This competition, derived as a result of the new condition, has mainly affected the policies and perspectives of each company and induced them to work as fast as possible. Similar to the humans and machinery, time is one of the main assets and resources of each company. Time usage has a great effect on production costs, products’ price, and finally on the company’s total profit. Indeed, in order to be able to compete with each other, it is essential for companies to use time properly. For example, one-second increase in the production time of a product not only increases the production cost but also decreases the total profit.

In addition, several errors caused due to the carelessness, which is caused by doing a work quickly, can ruin the reputation of the company. Consider Toyota, a Japanese car-making factory, as an example. Some of the cars produced by Toyota in 2012 had a trivial deficiency in their gear systems which forced Toyota to call back all of the defective cars. This process incurred a lot of cost to Toyota and reduced its profit by about 5 percent. It also reduced customers’ demand for a short time after the call-back.

On the other hand, in some industries such as medical equipment production and medicine production, a mistake may cause great losses, including injuries or death. Thus, although time should be considered as an important factor, accuracy is the most significant factor in these industries. Considering the empirical studies conducted in these kinds of industries, the more the level of accuracy, the fewer the number of mistakes.

In conclusion, I strongly assert that it is more important to work accurately with lower speed than with higher speed since the latter may impose indispensable effects on both the companies and the public.