TPO-42 - Independent Writing Task Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Job satisfaction is a relatively new concept developed by practitioners to measure employees’ satisfaction level from their jobs in order to recognize the strengths and weaknesses of the job and improve the job condition. There is a controversial question whether diversity of a job can lead to job satisfaction or not and employers have different attitudes toward this issue.

Some employers subscribe to the view that the simpler the job is, the high level of job satisfaction employees have. In fact, they contend that jobs which include a lower number of tasks need less effort to be completed, and since employees tend to the same task over and over, without the need for thinking, they would be happier if they have lower responsibilities. For example, if we assign a simple task to an accountant, he would have lower expectations and thus becomes happy with each little reward.

On the other hand, human beings inherently like diversity. They tend to visit different places, eat different food and have various experience. In fact, this characteristic makes them more inclined to do different tasks rather than doing the same task over and over. In other words, doing one particular job repeatedly reduce their enthusiasm and their productivity decreases by a large amount. Job rotation, a strategy applied by a lot of well-known companies all around the world, is an adjustment by companies in response to humans' need for diversity.

In addition, another reason why people tend to do different tasks in the workplace is that in this way they have more chance to get promoted. In other words, when people improve their skills in different tasks, it enables them to be eligible to apply for other similar positions. In today's economic crisis, it is important for people to be multi-skilled to satisfy the requirements of companies to have higher job security. Statistics show that employees with a higher level of diverse skills seem to be the latest persons want to quit a job since they are more satisfied with their jobs.

In conclusion, I strongly assert that the satisfaction degree of workers whose job contains different tasks is higher than that of workers whose job includes little diversity. Not only do people have the inherent inclination toward diverse life, but also they have bigger chance to get a promotion.