TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are considered one of the major segments of the society with a significant role in the society’s prosperity. However, the extent to which teachers can affect the society and thus be valued by the members of the society is still a challenging issue.

Many sociologists subscribe to the view that today, teachers have the same prestige as they had in the past. They contend that teachers are considered as one of the most impressive groups in a society, who have various educational, breeding, and religious roles. These sociologists cite a survey, conducted at the University of Tehran in 2009, to support their opinion. In this survey, people were asked to rank different occupations based on their social prestige. More than 70 percent of the respondents, ranked teachers as having the highest social impact and respect.

On the other hand, the first and foremost reason why teachers were more appreciated in the past is that they were the only source of the information and knowledge. In fact, in the past, teachers had a pivotal role in people’s education since there was not any other source available for people. The knowledge was orally conveyed through subsequent generations and people could hardly find written materials. Not only have the technological advances such as the invention of computers and the wide accessibility of the internet provided us with a lot of information, but also they can be used conveniently by the majority of people.

Furthermore, in the past, a person who intended to be a teacher was encountered a lot of difficulties to reach his goal. For example, in the past, most of the cities lacked schools and a student had to go to other places where they had an opportunity to learn. Thus, only a small proportion of people tended to be teachers. As a result, the public praised those who chose to teach despite all the obstacles they faced to be a successful teacher, and teaching was considered a kind of gift that only some people were able to achieve.

To put the issue into perspective, I hold the view that in the past, teachers were being respected more in comparison to today’s teachers since they were the only means for education, and had to overcome a lot of difficulties in the path to reach their goals.