TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

Humans can make mistakes in different stages of their lives and in this regard, teachers are not exceptions. In fact, teachers may make mistakes during the class due to different reasons such as tiredness, confusion, distraction and so forth, which is relatively common in the teaching process.

The best and foremost reason why to correct teachers' mistakes after the class is that in this way we can prevent their reputation to be damaged in front of a large group of students. In fact, some students may abuse the condition and attribute teachers' mistakes to not having an adequate amount of knowledge for teaching. This may lead to a situation that neither the students nor other teachers would respect the teacher, which would have negative psychological and mental effects on him. He may never forget this undesirable event.

In addition, interrupting the class and correcting teachers' mistakes in their teaching processes would distract other students. Indeed, when a student stops the teacher from speaking, not only does he confuse the teacher, but also he distracts other students that may miss other parts of the lessons. Thus, it is important to correct teachers' mistakes after the class. A survey conducted in 2009 indicates that students who get distracted by any means during the class would miss about 50 percent of the lessons taught in the class and have to work on the materials by themselves.

Furthermore, it is important to correct teachers' mistakes instead of saying nothing because it may mislead the students and convey them the wrong information which may stick in their minds and cause them getting poor grades in their exams, and even base their knowledge on incorrect information. In other words, students may learn the incorrect points made by the teachers and it is extremely harder to change the wrong ideas they have learned a long time ago, than changing their mind at the beginning of the next session.

In conclusion, I strongly assert that it is very useful to correct the teacher's mistake after finishing the class since it can benefit both the students and the teachers themselves. Applying this method would not distract students, and let them learn correct ideas, rather than incorrect ones. Also, teachers’ reputation remains undamaged.