TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Some sociologists believe that most events that are occurring throughout the world are completely or partially correlated. Therefore having information about the impressive events gives us the chance to make our best decisions. Two controversial questions that arise in this regard are how people can distinguish between important and unimportant events and to what extent people should be aware of the events in order to take the best action.

Some people argue that people have to be aware of the outline of each event that is occurring in the world. They support their belief by mentioning the correlation between the events. They contend that one event in one area of the world can directly or indirectly affect people's lives in another area. Thus, people have to read about events to be able to prepare themselves for the best reaction to the changes. For example, the increase in demand of rice in Thailand may increase the price of rice in Iran. Since Iran is the only exporters of rice in the middle-east, and other countries cannot satisfy their own demand they have to import rice from Iran. Therefore, when the demand of rice increases in Thailand, the shortage may occur which contributes to the increase in the price of rice in Iran. In this condition, Iranian people have to buy rice at a higher price. However, if they know the changing trend, they can predict the increase in price and purchase rice with sooner and with a lower price.

On the other hand, today, people are more concerned about different issues throughout their lifetime and thus they have less free time to spend on unimportant issues. In other words, people have more important to do to be able to afford a good life and in this regard, time is considered as one of the precious properties of humans in today's world. For example, today, most people above the age of 18have to work besides their parents. Even, many university students have to do part-time jobs in order to pay their tuition fees. In this condition, they have lower leisure time that they can spend on reading about the events around the world, and most of them prefer to spend their free time on playing games, hanging out with friends and so forth since they are more appealing to them.

In addition, with the advance of technology, people are able to gain information on specific events occurring around the world in an easy way. In fact, using computers and the internet have enabled people to concentrate on their interests in a relatively short time. Therefore, it seems unreasonable to read about the events occurring around the world before they affect people's lives. For example, we can search for a specific term in google and gain relevant data in a few seconds.

To put the issue into perspective, I strongly assert that it is unnecessary to read about the events around the world. Not only we can read about these events after selecting the most important ones, but also we would waste our precious time by reading about these events.