TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Psychologists believe that the purpose of studying plays a pivotal role in students' learning process. Although rewarding students can motivate students to study better at school, the effectiveness of rewarding students to stimulate them to study has been a matter of controversy for a long period.

One of the advantages of rewarding students for their high grades in school is that as children do not recognize any benefit for their studying at the first years of their life and think of studying as a useless work, they can be stimulated to study well by offering financial rewards such as money or toys. Therefore, a group of psychologists suggests that parent offer money to their children as a means for them to study better. Also the results of a survey conducted on children between the age of 7 to 10 support this idea. This study indicates that students who are offered money get better results in their school exams.

On the other hand, one of the disadvantages of the abovementioned idea is that the students try hard to get high grades only if their parents promise them money. Indeed, if parents cannot afford to give their children money, they lose their motivation and as a result, do not do their best to get high grades. Not only do the students become lazier, but they also get low grades which can adversely affect their future career. Since they cannot get high grades, they lose the chance to be accepted at well- known universities which also lowers their chance to get a high reputation job in the future.

In addition, as the students receive a special amount of money for each of their courses passed with a high degree, they tend to expect more things as they study at higher levels. In other words, considering the greedy nature of human beings, students increase their level of expectation since the received reward would not satisfy them anymore. For example, a university student, who was initially offered 10 dollars at his elementary school, may expect his family to buy him a relatively expensive car.

To put the issue into perspective, I Strongly assert that it is a bad idea to offer students money to motivate them getting high marks at schools since the disadvantages of this idea outweigh its mentioned advantage.