TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

In today's world parents are more concerned about different daily issues than before, so they have less time to allocate to their children. This condition raises a question of how children should spend their time without their parents. However, there is no broad consensus among parents and children over this issue.

The major advantage of playing games when parents are busy is that children can entertain themselves. Since games are usually too appealing to children, they can engage them for a relatively long time, which would let their parents do their works without disturbing by children. Thus, from parents' viewpoint, this way is very beneficial for, it can lower children's expectation from their parents. The benefit can be seen vividly in a case that a child wants her parents to take her out because she feels bored, but her parents do not have enough time.

On the other hand, the first and foremost advantage of doing schoolwork together is that not only does working in a group give children a chance to discuss their problems but also it leads to more success in doing their assignments. In other words, a group of children with a various scientific background, among which there are genius students, can solve problems more accurately and in a shorter time. A survey conducted at Tehran Science Ministry in 2010 suggests that working in group benefits students in gaining good grades in exams in comparison to students who do their homework individually.

In addition, group-work in student's life plays a pivotal role in his future's prosperity by improving his communication and social skills. In fact, when students participate in groups, they may be challenged by other members which leads them to learn how to defend themselves. This skill is very useful in the future to do well at both the university presentations and job interviews. In this way, students have a chance to be graduated with good resumes which also helps them get a better job. Consider, for instance, some teachers who require students to participate in class discussion and allocate several grades to participation in class. In this condition, students who have great discussion skills would get better grades.

In conclusion, I think it is essential that children spend their time on doing homework in a group since it brings them more benefits. They can gain good grades and build communication skills which would guarantee their prosperity in the future.