TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In addition to the technological advances in today’s world, which provide a large amount of information for the users, the advances in various fields that are updated day by day guide us to choose to learn the most important information, instead of being overwhelmed by this large amount. Thus, it is important to choose the most appropriate academic subjects to study.

The advocates of the idea of concentrating on only one academic subject assert that we can make our base of knowledge and increase it by updating our information. Indeed, today the information is created at a very fast rate and in order to be an expert, one needs to study and gain information in only one specific subject since he does not have enough time to cover many fields simultaneously. For example, consider a student who is graduated and can get a good job position, taking advantage of his deep information in the field.

On the other hand, the endorsers of the idea of gaining knowledge in a broad range of subjects maintain that the universities are increasing the number of cross-disciplinary programs to satisfy the needs of the industry. In other words, as the jobs are becoming more professional, they need employees to have knowledge on different subjects to be able to solve the problems and tackle various issues. Employees also need to have different skills since they are more likely to work in a group rather than individually. In fact, in order to understand each other, group members have to have a common language. For example, industrial engineers are the ones who have to handle and manage a group of experts with different skills and academic background such as computer engineers, web developers, mechanical engineers and so forth.

To sum up, I am of the same opinion as of the advocates of the idea that it is essential to have knowledge in a broad range of academic fields.