TPO-48 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because modern life is very complex, it is essential for young people to have the ability to plan and organize.

Modern life has specific features which necessitate people to change their lifestyles to adapt themselves to the new situation. One of the main changes is the shortage of time, which makes time a precious human property. Therefore the importance of having a plan for future success has increased drastically. However, there is no broad consensus on this issue and its rising importance.

Some people undervalue planning by mentioning that world is changing and growing rapidly, and nothing remains constant. In fact, this leads them to believe that nothing is predictable, and planning may seem useless from their point of view. They contend that other skills such as communication and social interaction are more important for people's success and young people have to give special attention to these talents.

On the other hand, people do not have much time to spend on different activities without making a plan. In other words, today most of the young people start working from early ages of 18, and a large portion of university students also have part-time jobs. Therefore, in this condition, they have to be organized enough to plan their future. Working without a plan has several drawbacks. Without having a plan, young people neither can identify the major activities needed for their future success nor can spend their time effectively on these activities.

In addition, not only does having a plan help people to determine their way to reach their goals, but also it would give people an accurate assessment tool by which they can assess their effort in relation to their plans. Indeed, if they find an undone activity in their plan, they can reschedule their plans or increase their efforts to finish the task on time. For example, if you have planned to write a paper in one month by spending 3 hours a day on writing but there is more to do that you have planned before, you can increase your effort to complete the task on time by working on your paper 4 hours a day. The results of a survey conducted at the University of Tehran in 2016 indicates that most people who plan their activities in detail can achieve their goals in a shorter time in comparison who do not plan.

To put the issue into perspective, I strongly assert that it is necessary for young people to have the ability to plan since this enables them to guarantee their future success.