TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Considering psychological studies, humans can be categorized with regard to their inherent features such as their gender and age. One of the main characteristics of any humankind is his willingness to risk. This feature plays a pivotal role in humans’ lives and determines their lifestyles. In other words, one can say that all of the humans’ actions are significantly influenced by his degree of willingness to risk.

The advocates of the idea that people have to take risks contend that taking risks will give people the chance to identify new opportunities, which may lead to their success. In fact, a person who tries new things may find himself more talented in the new field and may be more successful by working in this field. For example, a bank clerk who tries to learn how to write poems by attending different classes and studying various materials may become a very good poet in the future; otherwise, he remains the simple bank clerk for his whole life.

In addition, the supporter of the idea of taking risks claim that taking risks can be one way leads to the success, especially financial success. In fact, they state that huge swift successes are solely attainable by taking risks. In this regard, they refer to the people who have reached a lot of money in a short time by investing in high-risk projects in which only risk-seeking people would invest.

On the other hand, although the opponents of the idea of taking risks accept several cases of success attained by taking risks, at the same time they assert that the cases of failure are more than those of success in the real world. Indeed, they attribute the success in risky works to chance and always ask a question that why do people participate in risky actions, completely based on the chance, while they do not know the consequences? From their point of view, the probability of success can range from zero to a hundred percent.

To sum up, I am of the same opinion as the advocates of risky actions since, in my view, it is more advantageous than doing the same thing over and over.