TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As it is obvious, education constitutes one of the main stages of children’s lives. In this regard, teachers play a pivotal role in children’s beliefs formation. Thus, the issue of teaching and corresponding methods has attracted both academics and practitioners in recent years. Furthermore, it has also raised a question that to what extent teachers have to speak of their own personal beliefs and values in the classrooms.

One of the advantages of speaking of social and political views in the classroom is that in this way students become familiar with these issues which also makes them study and gain knowledge in relevant subjects. As a result, students start to read more books, watch more constructive videos, and do more research which would also increase their skill in some ways. For example, students try to find resources on the internet which would improve his/ her searching skill.

In addition, when teachers share their political views in classrooms, they probably explain their reasons to support such a view. This would not only motivate students to discuss in the classroom but also teaches them about the advantages and drawbacks of each view. It is possible only when the teacher explains these features indiscriminately.

On the other hand, when teachers explain and discuss their political attitudes in the classroom, students may support or oppose each attitude, based on their received information and conducted research, and choose one attitude to support. In fact, students may differ in their political attitudes, which can trigger a dispute between them and finally if it is not controlled properly, it can adversely affect their relationships. Thus losing friends can be one of the negative impacts of sharing political views by teachers. Statistics show an increasing trend in the number of disputes among students at schools, which are mainly occurred over their different attitudes.

To sum up, I strongly assert that the advantages of explaining political issues by teachers in classrooms are more than its mentioned disadvantage since it can improve their reading, research, and discussion skills, although it may hurt their friendship, if not controlled properly.