TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Looking back to the old entertainment children had during the past years, it is concluded that children entertainment has widely changed, especially during the early years of the twenty-first century. Technology advances has provided children with various entertainment, the most widespread of which is computer games. Thus, nowadays computers play a pivotal role in children’s life.

According to the advocates of computer games, there are several kinds of computer games which can positively affect the children’s way of thinking. Strategic games fall under this category. These games give the children the opportunity to get involved in difficult situations which necessitates them to make their own decisions. By experiencing the consequence of their decisions, children may improve their decisions and become able to make better decisions in similar situations in the real life.

Furthermore, the advocates of computer games contend that computer games, particularly those games which involve memorizing and recalling various actions, help children improve their memorizing ability. They also have other advantages such as helping children learn how to use computer devices from low ages, which is becoming more and more essential in today’s world.

On the other hand, the opponents of computer games believe that these kinds of games, which mainly involve the player into the war and aggressive scenes, cause several serious problems for children such as behavioral abnormalities, aggression and so forth. Recent studies conducted on a sample of children playing long hours of computer games empirically suggest that these children show more aggressive behavior than other children who do not play computer games or at least play computer games for short hours. Also, based on the reports received from parents, it seems that children who play computer games get angry and fight with their peers at schools more frequently than those who do not play. This also supports the aggressive behavior assumption.

To conclude, I strongly agree with the supporters of computer games considering the points made above.