TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Today, the changing world has greatly affected people's lifestyles. One of the changes that we face today is that we have to take on diverse roles in society and we have become more independent in comparison to the past. In this regard, one controversial question is whether it is still important to maintain old relationships or make new relationships in order to be happy. However, there is no broad consensus on this issue.

Some people subscribe to the view that nothing can replace our old intimate friends. In other words, they see old friends as one of the most valuable things that a person has. As we know, each person attempt to choose his friends based on common features that he finds in people and two friends with a long-time friendship have the most similarity to each other. In fact, two old friends know that they have at least one person in the world that can comprehend their behaviors toward other people in different situations and can make them happy since they know their desires and interests very well. Therefore, it is essential that each person have old friends to live a happier life.

On the other hand, in today's world, each person encounters different people with different ethnic backgrounds, language, and culture throughout his life. Therefore, it is important to make new friends in different environments to enjoy the time with each other. For example, a young person spends several hours of a day at school, goes to work after school, and spends several hours attending clubs, concerts and so forth. So, he encounters different people each day and has to be able to make friends in each of the mentioned places in order to enjoy being together.

In addition, nowadays, young people tend to live independent of their parents. Indeed, some of them rent houses to share with friends or live in dormitories with 2 or 3 roommates. When 2 or 3 people live together, they have to consider each other's desires, interests, and differences and in one word, they have to adapt to each other. They can facilitate adaptation process by making friendships with their roommates. According to a recent survey conducted by psychologists in center of psychology in Iran, friends can live together with less difficulty in comparison to strangers since they can sacrifice some of their desires in the favor of their friends' desires.

To put the issue into perspective, I strongly assert that the ability to make new friends has a pivotal role in being happy, even more than the ability to maintain old relationships. Not only is making new friends in different places necessary, but also it can pave the way for living together with people.