TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Education is one of the significant stages of students’ lives which plays a pivotal role shaping their future. In fact, the quality of education is an important issue which has been the matter of much thoughts and controversy among both policymakers and people. There are different viewpoint on the approaches to be put in practice to improve the quality of education.

The opponents of increasing professors’ salaries as a means to improve the quality of education subscribe to the view that this would encourage students to pursue their professors’ job, and thus fewer students tend to work outside the university, in industrial sector, which is highly dependent on scientific measures to sustain, especially in today’s economic recession.

On the other hand, the advocates of the idea that the professors’ salaries should be increased I order to increase the quality of education contend that increasing their wages gives the opportunity to work merely as a teacher in the universities. In this way, not only would the professors spend more times at universities, but they also can teach more effectively since they can better concentrate on their job. In other words, they do not need to select another job to be able to afford their lives. For example, consider a professor who has only a full-time job at the university. He can allocate more time to students to guide them to write their thesis, which improves the level of research at the university.

In addition, the advocates of the aforementioned idea assert that since the professor is less concerned with his personal life, he can better concentrate on his job, dedicate himself to research, increase his knowledge and make himself up to date. This would help students to access the newest information in their field of study. The more enthusiastic the professor is, the more motivated the students become.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the advocates of the idea that universities have to pay more salary to their professors to since it can benefit both the professor by increasing his focus and research activities, and the students by preparing them to achieve their goals.