TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.U

Technological advancements in today's world have widely affected people's lifestyles and in this regard, education process is no exception. These new changes have increased public concerns and both the academics and practitioners are trying to find a solution. One controversial question that raises in this regard is whether technology has adversely affected the education process or not. However, there is no broad consensus among psychologists and educators over this issue.

Some parents believe that smartphones and other devices could be used by their children for educational purposes. They assert that these devices can teach children using various methods that are more appealing to children in comparison to the past. For example, children can learn a specific topic by playing educative games or reading informative stories. The results of a recent survey conducted at the University of Texas in 2017 shows the superiority of new methods of education over current traditional methods. This study shows that children tend to spend more time to study using smartphones rather than studying through reading a book. Thus, it seems that today, it is easier to attract children to learning using smart devices.

On the other hand, the first and foremost reason why educating children has become more difficult in comparison to the past is that children have a wide variety of tasks they can spend time on. In fact, today availability of devices such as smartphones and computers gave children another option besides studying. Since these devices are very appealing to children, most of the children would definitely prefer using these devices over studying. Consider smartphones and the available applications and software in these devices. One of the main application of smartphones which is widely used by children is playing games. Playing games can engage them for a relatively long time and thus inhibit them to allocate their time to do their homework.

In addition, as some psychologists believe, smart devices can adversely affect children's thinking even when they do not use these devices. In other words, smart devices expose children to an unlimited amount of information about different subjects, some of which may engage children’s minds. Constantly thinking about a specific issue, children may lose their focus and thus their functionality during studying.

To put the issue into perspective, I strongly assert that today, education process needs more effort in comparison to the past. Not only do the smart devices engage children in entertaining activities, but also they reduce their focus during studying process.