TPO-25 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, general awareness about whether or not young people nowadays are not given enough time to help their communities has aroused heated arguments. People, nevertheless have conflicting ideas. While some people say that many students give their time volunteering for communities, others deem otherwise. In my opinion, I agree that students nowadays usually do not spend time for their communities for two reasons. Firstly, students live in a extremely busy schedule and find it hard to arrange time for helping their communities. In addition, young people are selfish and reluctant to spend their time for others.

To begin with, students are pressed for time and don't have enough time to spend for community activities. Students live in a society pressured by grades and competition, and they are forced to spend most of their time studying. Sometimes they even lack time for sleeping and eating due to intense studying and competition. As a result, students are careless about helping other people in their communities. Even though they have free time, students prefer to use it for themselves relaxing and releasing stress rather than volunteering and involved in the community. For example, when I was young, I used to visit a local orphanage once a week for volunteering. However, as I entered high school and university I became increasingly busy doing my homework and preparing for exams, I found it harder and harder to arrange time for volunteering. Therefore, lack of time is one reason why students don't give enough time to volunteer for their communities.

Furthermore, students nowadays are becoming increasingly selfish. They do not understand the value of sharing and are reluctant to share their time and resources with other people. This is mainly due to the development of internet and electronic devices. Students who spend more time on the internet and on their personal devices spend less time communicating with friends and neighborhoods. They will not able to learn the value of sharing with other people. Also, they will neglect the importance and significance of the community. As a result, young people are becoming more and more unconcerned about being involved in their communities.

To sum up, I assert that students are being less involved in their community as their tight schedule in this busy society prevents them from doing so. Also, as young adults lack communication which is caused by their frequent use of electronic devices, which prevents them from using their time to help others.