In order to attract good students, many university should spend a lot of money in Social Network Service.

do you agree?

Nowadays, many universities utilize social network services such as facebook, twitter and blogs in order to attract predominant students. However, putting up advertisements on social network service and organizing promotional materials to post up on the internet is a costly job. Therefore, recently in many universities, whether it is worthy to invest money in social media to attract superior students have aroused heated arguments. In my point of view, universities should use their budget in upgrading their facilities rather than spending them on marketing. Spending money on social media marketing is not a very efficient option. Moreover, if student's expectations is different from reality, the reputation of the school will deteriorate.

To begin with, advertisements on social media is not very effective in attracting great students. These students not only value the courses and scholarship the universities offers, which is the main point universities promote on social media, but also consider the tradition, reputation and also the ranking of the university, which cannot be established by marketing on social networking services. For example, in Australia there is a university named University of technology Sydney. They have been keen on posting advertisements presenting the superior courses they have and massive scholarship they offer to students with superior SAT scores. However, many good students in our school did not apply for that university since it had a very bad reputation. The school ranking was low since they had bad facilities such as old research labs and equipment it had. Also, many students disliked the school and dormitory policy. Furthermore, there were not many successful graduates in the own field of studying. Therefore, looking at this case, it is wise for universities to invest money on enhancing their facilities rather than overrating themselves. If I was a good student looking for a university to learn, I may be allured by those sweet catchphrases on the internet such as "we offer 50 thousand dollar scholarship for everyone!" or "Make your dream come true in this school!" for a moment, however, after thoughtful considering, I will never choose those universities.

In addition, the school reputation will be damaged if the student's expectation on the university is different with the actual image of the school. This will further be and obstacle in enlisting talented students to the university. As an example, one of my senior in high school chose a university in Melbourne because he was impressed by the facilities it had and the courses it offered, which he found the information in the advertising material on social network. However, as soon as his freshman year commenced, he was so disappointed. What he learned was totally different from the courses offered from the booklet and there were rats and roaches in his dormitory, apparently different from what he expected from the pictures of the university. Some of my fellow students, who ranked in the top 10 in our grade changed our mind when he came to our school and shared the terrible experience he had. Universities overrating themselves on social network to attract students will eventually have negative effect, being an obstacle in recruiting good students.

In conclusion, universities should not allocate their budget for advertising in social media. It will arise several problems if the university does not have a good reputation or have superb facilities. It will not be a good way to promote their school. Moreover, it could build up a negative reputation of their school