TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Nowadays, people are exposed to various sources of news such as TV, internet and newspapers. While people find news related to them such as politics, government regulations and sporting events as useful, they are unmindful of events happening on the other side of the world. Nevertheless, some people insist that it is essential to acknowledge information about global events , regardless of the impact it has on your life. However, I strongly disagree with this idea. Firstly, it is almost impossible to be aware of everything, and also it is time consuming. Moreover, some news may contain inappropriate or biased information.

First of all, through the "flood" of information, trying to acknowledge every event happening around the earth is impossible and also time consuming. Through the fast-paced modern society, events around the world are updated endlessly, and people even find it overwhelming to search important information, and people find it pointless to care about minor incidents that would not effect them seriously. As an example, my dream is to become a major league sportscaster, and in order to do so, I try to keep myself up to date to various sports events and news. However, I find this work very time consuming and exhausting. Every time I look up at minor news, even incidents happening in countries that I have never heard of, I find there is not profit doing so. If people try to care on every single happening around the world, as a result they could get stressed doing so.

Also, some information might be manipulated or confronting. Through this harsh world, many shocking accidents happen, and people who are unrelated may not be wanting to receive those news. For example, I once saw news about the war between Israel and Palestine and a picture of the terrible massacre going on. Not only the cruel picture of children getting killed by soldiers made me sick, I had many Jewish friends from Israel who had contrasting views with me. As a result, the confronting news affected my relationship with my friends although the event had nothing to do with us. Also, some information might contain biased views or have fake information. The media which delivers news on events around the world may have misleading information and can be easily contain biased views according to the writer. As an example, I once say a news on a university research team that confirmed the health effects of salaries. However, right after I received news on how salaries could be damaging to your health. The media continuously supplies us with various news, but it is important to select useful and genuine news.

Compared to the past, it has became much easier to receive news around the world. However, as the quantity of news has greatly increased, it is important to select useful information as it may be confronting or pointless.