The best way to learn foreign language is to watch a movie and TV show. Do you agree or not?

Living in the era of globalization, learning and speaking a foreign language has became increasingly demanding. Therefore, many people struggle to learn a foreign language by attending classes at school or receiving tutoring. Meanwhile, some people think the best method to learn language is watching foreign TV shows and movies. However, I strongly disagree with this opinion since the contents of the video will distract you from learning. Also, when watching a video on a foreign language, you are most likely to focus on the subtitles, rather than the pronunciation and sentence structure of the language.

To begin with, when attempting to learn foreign language by movies and dramas, the content of the video is very likely to distract you from learning. For example, when watching an action movie, which are you more likely to focus on? The language or the visual components? Definitely the visual components. Therefore, attempting to learn language by watching videos are likely to end by enjoying the movie, not delving into the language used. As and an example, when I first tried to learn English, I thought that watching Hollywood movies in English would be a great idea since I could learn colloquial expression and correct accents while having fun. However, it turned out I only had fun watching the movie but was definitely not learning anything from it. I was not concentrating on listening to the confusing quotes but rather enjoying the fun action scenes. Since then, I believe that this method is a bad idea since it distracts you.

In addition, subtitles in foreign movies will distract you. Listening to the language and identify the word and meaning is and essential skill. However, many people who decide to learn another language through foreign movies makes a mistake and end up relying on the subtitles to understand the language. However, there are no subtitles in real life, and doing so is a great mistake you could make in learning. Also, there are cases that those subtitles are not accurate. For people learning language by matching the sound, the vocal language with the subtitles translate to their own language, these subtitles will mislead them, disturbing their learning. For example, my Australian friend once attempted to learn Korean by watching Korean movies after learning the basics. However, when I decided to help him, I discovered that he was learning from a totally wrong subtitles. He was even confusing the Korean words of "Thursday" and "Friday".

In conclusion, I think the strategy of practicing and getting familiar with a foreign language is not a good idea since you may get distracted watching the movie neglecting it's original purpose. Also, watching with subtitle is not a good idea since not only it will stagnate your learning as you depend on it, but also could mislead you if it is inaccurate.