TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

Celebrities play an important role in people's life. For example, people tend to buy products used by celebrities, or change their viewpoints according to them. However, between parents, whether children are more influenced by celebrities have recently aroused heated arguments. Some people disagree, however, I agree with the statement that athletes and entertainers have profound effects on young people more than on old people. Firstly, this is because children are dexterous in using technology. Also, they are easily swayed by other people's opinion, especially if the person is famous or influential.

To begin with, teenagers are exposed to the media such as televisions, news and also social media. They are acquainted in using smartphones and through social media and internet, they easily search and receive news and information about celebrities. Therefore, they are more affected to celebrities thoughts and behavior. Also, as an example, on famous celebrities social media's we could easily see teenagers "retweet" and pressing "like" on their posts, or express agreement on the comment section. In comparison, in the past, older people have little access to these information because they are not dexterous in using smartphones. Rather than actively searching up information, they passively receive information. As a result, they get less affected by celebrities on media.

In addition, teenagers rather easily get affected by other people, especially famous superstars and athletes rather than being thoughtful in making their own decisions. They regard celebrities as their role models and desire to resemble them. One example affect of celebrities on advertisements. Teenagers purchase expensive accessories or equipment that their favorite singer or athletes have worn or used. Also, they tend to purchase products that celebrities advertise. Through this behavior, they try to identify themselves with the stars they admire. Also, teenagers consider those products "trustworthy" due to the presence of celebrities. However, adults, through their experience are able to ponder and examine their ideas. They are able to verify the reliability of the information and do not easily get swayed by popularity of the source.

In conclusion, young people easily get swayed by celebrities. This is due to they are able to actively accept news and opinions of stars through smartphones, and they do not thoughtfully consider the reliability of celebrity's opinion.