Films can tell us a lot about the country in which they were made. Do you agree or not?

When filming a movie, a specific location in a country regarded appropriate to depict the scenery of the story is chosen as the background settings. This may accord with the background setting of the story or may not. For example, the background setting of the story in the film "Harry Potter" is England, which matches with the actual location where it filmed. Also, in the movie "The Martian", the background setting of the story is mars, however due to many realistic reasons, the movie was actually filmed in Mexico. Meanwhile, some people think that movies could tell a lot about the country in which it was filmed since the visual image of the scenery is depicted throughout the movie. However, I strongly disagree with the idea since the set in of the movie may differ from where it was actually filmed. Also, it may exaggerate or neglect important characteristics of the country, conveying inaccurate images of the country.

To begin with, the setting in the film does not always match with the location where it was filmed. If the movie was set in an imaginary place, such as an alien planet or a middle age country, it will be hard to infer about the country by just watching the movie. For example, one of the most famous science fiction movie, "The Avatar" deals with an alien planet with magnificent scenery. However, the movie was actually filmed in China. Plus, most of the visual effects were created through computer graphics. By watching "The Avatar", you will not be able to infer the scenery or the culture of china. Furthermore, some movies are filmed in different countries from their set up. For example, in the movie "Black Panther" released recently, there is a scene where the protagonist, the Black Panther and his friends visit Busan, a city in South Korea. However, the movie was filmed in a movie set in America. In fact, the scenery from the movie is quite different from how it actually is. The movie will not correctly tell you about how America nor South Korea actually looks like.

In addition, movies often exaggerate or miss out the important features of the location where it was filmed in. For example, looking at American gangster action movies it seems like America is a country without law where Gangsters just shoot each other in front of the police office in the middle of the day. Also, looking at some Chinese action movies, we may think that all Chinese people, including normal civilians such as the supermarket owner are capable using fantastic Asian martial arts. Another negative example could be seen in the movie "Hostage". The movie "Hostage" is a horror film filmed in Slovakia, showing Americans who visited Slovakia getting kidnapped and brutally tortured. The movie was a big success, however, many negative reputation was formed about Slovakia, the setting of the movie. However, Slovakia is currently one of the safest country with lowest crime rates in the world. Moreover, according to a research, the tourist industry was affected due to the negative image the movie produced. Movies intentionally make exaggerations and alternations from actual facts in order to entertain the audience. Therefore, movies do not accurately show much about the country it was filmed in.

In conclusion, we cannot assert that movies tell lot about the country it was filmed in. The setting of the location may be different from where it actually filmed, and also it may convey exaggerated or inaccurate images of the country.