TPO 27

Despite the fact that giving some definite ideas about this issue without considering the situation about which we are talking is a bit difficult, and it fully depends on the conditions, I generally argue specification of the university's budget solely to professors' salaries for the sake of the improvement in the quality of education would not satisfy this purpose. This essay will elaborate upon the reasons of the disagreement with this plan.

To begin with, let's have a close look to the fundamental factors affecting on the quality of education. Regarding the factors determining the rank of universities in some ranking systems such as Times or Shanghai, we will find only professors are not decisive in the quality of education, comparing some other features such as students knowledge, educational facilities, recreational equipments, university space, and the number of published articles recognize the rank of universities all over the world. Although professors play a significant role in some of them like students knowledge or the number of published articles, they are not the only part. Take for instance, the university hiring a top distinguished professor in experimental optic physics by paying a great deal of money, but what if this very university has not enough lab facilities not only for the professor's experiments but also for his or her students. The outcome would be a high paid professor sitting in his or her office without any published articles, and the lack of suitable university education for students. Therefore, in this regard spending money only for students would not serve this purpose.

In addition, from my own experiences with studying as M.Sc. students, I discovered that for most of professors and scholars the last cause of happiness or the last reason of them to improve their job is money. Enjoying from a two years scientific experiment which may seem the most tedious job for a lot of people, the professors would take it more desirable to have a sophisticated, for example, mirror in their laboratory to examine their theories and to observe its results with their eyes. Thus, there are a lot of much more profound motivations stirring them to increase their efficiency and as a result the quality of education in an especial university.

In conclusion, with all of this taken into account, the plan proposing that the progress of education in a university would happen after increasing the professors' salaries deserve to fail since it does not consider all important vital components of a high qualified university providing high caliber education.