TPO 27- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate whether when people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying. In my humble opinion, I chose the former option. I feel this way for two main reasons which, I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, in today's modern world getting a secured job is very difficult. Hence, in every opportunity that would come along must be taken seriously and do not let it to pass by. There are a lot of competition in finding a decent job, so when people have the chance to get a stable work then they must go for it and don't waste the opportunity. For instance, there are many other applicants when I graduated in Nursing and the competition is very high that you need to compete with other people. Also, applicants will wait for couple of months before company or institution will notice their resume. I applied to numerous hospitals in my hometown and only few hospital called back. I had the chance to be a part of an institution which is leading in health care industry, I did not waste my chance to be a part of this company and right to this moment I am very happy that I grabbed this wonderful career. I learned so much with this job and helped me become a proficient and professional Nurse that I am today.

Secondly, the negative outcome for waiting for a job that is satisfying is that you might miss a good job opportunity. In other words, time and effort will be wasted applying to different company just to find the perfect job. For instance, my friend Edd is a visual artist by profession and he applied on numerous companies around Makati city. Edd was so picky and choosy to his work that he rejected so many offers given to him. There was this offer that he regret that he declined, it was a job opportunity in Singapore where he will be the lead visual artist. Edd declined it because he feels at that time that the work load will not satisfy his needs as an artist. The company offered him high salary and housing accommodation for free, but this offer that he declined was the best offer he received in his entire career and he deeply regret that he refused to part of the company. All in all, opportunity only knocks once and you must take it immediately.

To summarize, I believe that it is more beneficial to take an job opportunity immediately if there is a chance. This is because it is difficult to find a decent job that pays well.