TPO-27 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying.Use specific reasons and ex

People may not always have the job they desire, but should they sacrifise other opprtunities such as declining another job?

While some migh believe that opurrtunities dont repeat so it is better to accept any job currently available, others disagree. I believe that searching for your dream career is worth the extra hassle, since you will be less motivated in a job you don't desire and you will always be wondering what would have happened if you didn't give up.

First, if you settle in a career that you don't want, you will be lack the motivation to do it when things go rough. This in turn, would lead to a failure. For example, my father always wanted to be a financial manager. But after graduation there were not that many openings for junior financial manager. Since he was the primary breadwinner of the family, he had to choose a job. So he became an accountant in an eminent corpration. He had thaught to himself that since the pay was good, he wuold be motivated enough to perform his job. However, his duties got more intense and the work became very demanding and time consuming. Some days he was required to work extra and stay till midnight to complete the projects he had been asigned. Since he didn't like this job in the first place, these pressures made things worse for him and he became depressed. As a result, he wasn't able to perform his duties properly and after a few mistaked he made on the job, and got fired.

Second, if you don't go after your dreams, you are always giong to be tormentong yourself on not following your dreams and blaming everything bad that happens on this. For instance, my mother always wanted to be a translator for renowed international agancy such as UN. She is fluent in french and English. But she was offered a job as a teacher in state schools system. This job compensated well, and provide insurance. In addition, She didn' mind teaching. So she accepted the offer.After twenty years, Whenever she watches TV and sees on news the projects led by UN, she wonders what would have happened if she didn't setle for being a teacher and pursued her drwam career and now worked in an exciting project that would have taken her around the world and offered her the oppurtunity to impact have an impact on the world.

In sum, going after the first job offered to you without carefully examining whether you really desire it would lead to failure, especially when you don't like the job since if the job gets demanding enough, you wouldn't be motivated enough to meet the expectations. It will also leave you wondering about the oppurtunities you have lost by not being patioent enogh and giving up too easily.