TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is widely accepted that university professors play a key role in upbringing more erudite people in the society. Some people may hold the view that not only should the authorities not provide professors with higher salaries, but also they should reduce their income in some cases like when they do not work efficiently. I, nonetheless, contend that the more the salary of teachers, the more they are likely to be productive. In the following paragraphs, three conspicuous reasons will cogently illustrate this perspective.

The first aspect to point out is that professors are generally knowledgeable people who have devoted a bulk of their lives to their studies. Therefore, they absolutely deserve a salary which enables them to live with some reasonable extent of luxury. That is, an income which just enables them to make their ends meet is quite rejected for such high-class people. It is worth stating at this point that professors are often mature people who have wife and maybe some children and they should also support their family financially.

Another equally noteworthy point in corroborating my stance is that should the authorities intend to raise the efficiency of professors, they could do worse than give them a decent source of livelihood which enables teachers to lead their lives without having to be concerned about how to earn a living. Otherwise, they would be engaged in off-campus jobs which could bode ill for students they supervise since they would not have enough time to allocate each student.

Finally yet importantly, one cannot neglect the indisputable fact that we are now witnessing a declinning trend among students to pursue their education into higher levels. This is due in large to the fact that they do not find the effort needed to fulfill a master's or PhD's degree worth paying. Under those circumstances, higher education could become more appealing to them by assuring them of a high salary if they get such degrees and become university professors.

In brief, one can logically draw the conclusion that a pay raise for teachers can benefit them as well as the society in many ways, from making professors work more interestingly to persuading the young to continue their education. All in all, it is highly recommended what other more long-term impacts it may have on the academic society in large scale.