TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is essential for countries that want to develop better. A good education is hard to come by since it depends on various factors; one of which is salaries of university professors. It will help to achieve better quality in education if those wages provide enough for professors' financial matters so that they could concentrate on their teaching. Let me explain my answer by providing two reasons.

First, it is critical that university professors feel that their work at universities has the highest priority. If they have financial problems and their salary wouldn't be enough to cover their living and researches; it would be problematic. For instance, when I was studying architecture seven years ago at The IAUCTB, I had a professor in architecture design class called Mohammadi. She was quite good at her job, and we learned a lot from her. But the university didn't pay her as much as she deserved. As a result, her quality of teaching dropped significantly, and she didn't concentrate her focus and efforts on her teaching. Instead, she was working at her company most of the time and didn't care much about teaching. Therefore her classes gradually turned to be boring and dull after a while and students wouldn't choose her for upcoming semesters for their courses. That was a simple example of how inadequate salary could debilitate enthusiastic professors over time and eliminates their attention towards their teaching.

Second, with better salaries, professors won't be worried about their financial matters, and it would elevate their quality of teaching in their classes. But if their needs won't satisfy by universities, they have to provide for their lives and would search for other means to meet their needs. For example, when I had to pass my static course at The IAUCTB, I had a tough time understanding my lessons, so as other of my classmates. I had to take the course three times until I passed it gradually. As it turned out, it wasn't our problem at all. The professors wouldn't teach us properly so that they could convince students that they need more hours of study. Therefore, students had to take private lessons with them to pass the course. As a matter of fact, those who participated in those private lessons passed the course eventually, and others like me who wouldn't convince to pay extra money for the course, wouldn't pass. And that's why it is important to see the professors' needs to prevent this actions.

Universities should take good care of their professors by paying them sufficient amount of salaries; to ensure them that they could meet their needs without further problems. In this way, as I mentioned in paragraphs before, it is obvious that professors wouldn't be worried and they could show their best quality to teach students what they need to be taught with the best quality.