TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.Use spe

Working as a team is an essential skill that everyone must have to prosper in society. There is no better place than a school to teach children how to work together at their early ages. When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects. Let me elaborate my answer with two main reasons.

First, when students work together as a team, they could motivate each other, and their progress would excel enormously. For instance, when I was in Khaatam elementary school, I was in a mathematics group named Hogwarts; we were pretty excited about Harry Potter books back then. We were working as a team in order to achieve good results, and our grades were related to each other. Moreover, we were supposed to work on a math project for the final math exhibition, where our parents and relatives would attend to see our projects. That was an exciting plan, which while we were working on our homework or our projects, we were enjoying the process a lot. Our teacher, Mr. Bayrami, had a painting in his class; which was a boy who stroke the word hate and replaced it with love; the final statement was "I love mathematics." At the end of the course, we truly loved maths. That was a simple example of how working in groups could change the experience of learning and amend it for the better.

Second, working in groups could help students to reach better ideas and innovative solutions. For instance, I was in an architectural designing group a couple of years ago, and we were working for solutions to design better shelters for those in need; like victims of an earthquake, hurricanes or other natural calamities. We had regular gatherings in which we were sharing our thoughts, sketches, and models and discussing the positive and negative points of each of them. In those brain-storming sessions, we had reached novel ideas that were praised by some architects, and our project was supported and funded by The Architects Association in Iran; the country we are from. Our project was successfully built and experienced by those who were affected by Herris earthquake, and it was printed on Honar O Memari Magazine. That's my experience of how positive it would be to work in a group.

Teaching children how to work efficiently with each other in a group in early ages, could benefit them significantly, and that skill could become very handy in their future lives. They could learn the benefits of motivations in groups, brainstorming sessions and successfully evolve their projects.