TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, as a result of significant changes in human being lifestyle's, education plays a crucial role in our lives. Due to its paramount importance, there is an argument among various people about whether universities should increase the salaries of the professors in order to improve the quality of education. From my own perspective, I firmly believe that they should not increase the salaries of the professors and I will explicate my points of view through the following paragraphs.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that the increment in their salaries would make them more reluctant to search for opportunities to improve the industries of their countries by solving industry’s issues and problems. A very tangible example to illustrate this argument could be the car industry in Iran. As everybody knows, the car factories confront lots of difficulties in the process of designing and producing an automobile. Assume that the salaries of the professors of mechanical department do not increase as it should. The professors would look to find other financial resources to increase their total salaries like try to solve those difficulties for car factories. This decision will lead to increase in their total salaries and improvement in car industries.

Likewise, equally relevant to the prior argument, it is important to consider this point that in many universities, the professor would try to fund some of their students to work on some special projects. Those projects are mainly the problems that exist in the factories and industries. Also, those problem could be solved by the effort of these students. So, the fund that a professor considers for one student would result in a solution for industries' problems and also an increase in professor salary. Ergo, an increment in their salaries would make them more reluctant to fund some student and to solve factories' problems.

Although the previous reasons are the first ones crosses our minds at first glance, they are by no means the only one available. Actually, there is another subtle point which must be beard in mind. The noteworthy refreshingly intelligible study, revealed by a recent social research, conducted in our country, support that the salary of a university professor is among the top five salaries in our country. It also compared the amount of time that he has to spend on his job and an engineer would spend and its result is amazing. According to the result of this study, the amount of time that an engineer would spend on his job would be three times more than a professor, But his income is half of the professor. Therefore, it is not fair to an engineer and other careers that the professor salary should be increased.

To make a long story short, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that it is unfair to other careers that there is an increment in professors' salary. Actually, there are some other reasons and examples, supporting the claim, which is not mentioned above due to the dearth of time. All in all, I suggest professors look for some problems in their countries that can be solved by their help and try to solve those.